I’ve been a bad girl! Do I need a spanking?

I have been a bad, bad blogger.

Some of the Burlesqueteers are really great bloggers. They post very interesting and personal articles regularly, and every time I read one of them, I think to myself, “I need to blog again.” But then I don’t.

I told myself that I didn’t blog because I just didn’t have the time, but that just wasn’t true. I mean, if I had time for Angry Birds (which I did) and farting around on Facebook (which I also did) and for reading a slew of historical and paranormal romance novels (yup, that too!), then I definitely had enough time for blogging. I just didn’t do it.

I recently realized the real reason I haven’t been blogging. Well, there are a couple reasons actually, but they both boil down to one reason in the end:

I’ve been self-editing my blogging before ever setting my fingers to the keyboard, and it killed my interest in writing, let alone my courage to hit that “publish” button.

I wrote a little bit about my first reason for self editing here. I let the haters intimidate me. I no longer felt comfortable putting myself out there because I knew that a certain number of people don’t like me, don’t like what I do, and actively, vocally want to “take me down.” So I pulled into my little shell, and I stopped putting myself out there. And I let the haters win just a little bit.Don't try to win over the haters. You are not the Jerk Whisperer.

Well, fuck that! Yes, I swore. Swearing is powerful when used to show strong emotion, so here I go again: FUCK that!

Since I haven’t been blogging, you probably don’t know about all of the business training I’ve been doing over the last few years. Not just reading books. I’ve been going to seminars, taking online courses, listening to audio training, watching DVDs. It has really been an obsession, or perhaps a compulsion. I’m not sure which. Well, I was amazed when almost every single business mentor I’ve been training with addresses this issue of haters. They don’t generally call them “haters.” Bestselling author, David Bach calls them dream stealers. Winston Churchill said, “You have enemies? Good. That means you’ve stood up for something in your life.” It seems to be a universal experience for everyone who has ever had the audacity to actually get out there and do something. So, I’m not going to worry about it any more. Let the haters hate, I’ll be here having fun in my Burlesqueteer Bubble of Awesomeness (more on that later).

The second reason I’ve been self-editing and so not writing, is that I had it in my head that I should only write advice about burlesque on this blog. Or announce upcoming shows or whatnot. But since I felt I had to write about burlesque, of course it was the last thing in the world I was interested in writing about. And so I wrote nothing.

Well, eff that, too! This is my blog, so I’m going to write about whatever I am inspired to write about. This might be health, self esteem, fashion, lifestyle… heck, it might even be about burlesque! It will be about what’s going on in my life and my mind as we go along. If it’s TMI or doesn’t interest you, don’t read it. If you like it, great! But I’m not going to worry about it before I write it all out and hit “publish.” I might not even worry about it afterwards.

I already have a bunch of subjects I’m excited to write about, so stay tuned for these upcoming posts (and subscribe to this blog if you want to be notified when they’re published!!!):

– “In search of the Next Frontier of Naked”
– “The Bombshell’s Guide to Making Sh*t Happen”
– “How to create YOUR Happy Bubble of Awesomeness”
– “Embarrassment Therapy”

You can also check out some of the Burlesqueteers’ blogs here:

“Burlesque Mama” by Violet Streak
“Corner Blog” by Yve Jobs
Red Velvet’s blog
Candy Pie’s blog

(Are you a blogging Burlesqueteer and I didn’t list you here? Leave your URL in the comments so I know about your blog!)

9 Comments

Filed under Personal

9 responses to “I’ve been a bad girl! Do I need a spanking?

  1. Love this Betty! I always love to hear what you have to say burlesque related or not! You are an amazingly intelligent woman. And you have inspired me to write about work/burlesque life clashes, which I will be posting soon!

  2. Valhalla Voom

    Betty, you are amazing and GOOD FOR YOU! If ‘Haters’ knew you even a little and knew how many positive affects you have had on thousands of women they would be ‘jerk whispered’ but, haters aren’t worth the energy in the first place. You know how much I admire and respect you and think you are an incredible business woman with a great business model. I look forward to reading more soon! …and you may have given me courage to post my blogs currently under facebook to a ‘real’ blog site 😉

    • Thanks, Valhalla! And I hope you DO start up a real blog. I’ve been reading your posts on Facebook, but it’s not set up to support blogging, so DO IT! Set up a blog, and I’ll link to you. 🙂

  3. I am
    So excited to read. You are such an inspiring person. “haters be hating”
    I find it very creative and therapuetic to blog to put thoughts and feelings and pictures and document my life somewhere that isn’t lost like on Facebook!
    Think of all the people you can inspire through your blog !

  4. Oh Betty! Write whatever is in your head. You are so smart and witty, so creative, that I would love to read it all! Blogginf for me is away to stay connected with burlesque since my life is so far from it, it will be intersting it see what you have to say. coco

  5. Love your writing style and YEAH to the BOO to the haters! Thanks for the linkage to the Candy blog and all the other love blogs too! You are a SINspiration in all you do, and baby, this BLOG is for you!!! Keep it. Write like a stream of consciousness, fill yourself with love and more love will follow you near and far like a train of puppies lap-dancing at your Swarovski chrystalized heels.

    Muah!

  6. Don’t let anybody try to take you down. I’m planning to start burlesque and I just discovered your blog 10 minutes ago and I LOVE IT so much I would hate to not be able to read this stuff because a girl with a great attitude and great advice was feeling self-conscious. You rule.

Leave a Reply

