Clown Burlesque!

From my Clown on Rollerskates act at the Uptown in Oakland, 2008

Im really interested in burlesque dancing someday so I try to talk to as many people and get as much info as possible. I was interested in routines that use physical comedy. I came across the term “clown burlesque” but couldn’t find much about it- but when I entered the term in youtube some of your vids came up. I really liked them! I wanted to know if you could give me more information about clown burlesque- anything you know really- and if you can, lead me to more resources. I’d really appreaciate it. Thanks 🙂

Angel B.
Wethersfield, CT
Hi Angel,

I don’t know of any specific resources for clown burlesque, but I found some great links with background info on both peformance styles. Put them together, and there you are! Burlesque has always used elements of comedy and bawdyness, as you will see from reading, so many modern burlesque acts also combine sexuality with humor, whether in clown face or dressed as a traditional showgirl.

For me, burlesque is a great platform to juxtapose the traditionally beautiful/sexy with the ridiculous, bizarre, grotesque, and absurd. Dressing as a clown is one way to do this, but I also incorporate the same humor and physical comedy when portraying a more glamorous “showgirl” character.

My clown burlesque troupe, Twist My Balloons, at the DNA Lounge, 2006

There is a regional trend toward clown burlesque in New York and in San Francsico. From what I have seen and read, places like Seattle, Denver, LA, Florida, and many other cities, tend more toward the “classic glamour” style of burlesque. Of course, there are always exceptions to this trend in every region, and I am only making a rough generality here.

Burlesque history:
http://www.musicals101.com/burlesque.htm
http://www.musicals101.com/burlesque2.htm

Clowning:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Clown
http://sunniebunniezz.com/clowning/clowns.htm
http://www.clownschool.net/

I am sure you can find many more resources by searching online. Good luck with your search, and I hope this helps!
Betty
PS: Here are a few more of my clown burlesque photos:

From the Chair Race act at the DNA Lounge, 2006

More Chair Race with Sweet Cheeks...

And more Chair Race...

Fruit Cocktail, featuring Miss Banana Peel and the AMAZING Coconuts! 2006

More from the Clown on Rollerskates act at the Uptown in Oakland, 2008

My "showgirl clownface" after my Pastie Tricks act at the Pin It Up, Babycakes show at 111 Minna, 2009

Clown Chickens act with Sweet Cheeks at the Hubba Hubba Revue, 2006

Final reveal for Clown Chickens act... Sexy!

My clowny Big Bad Wolf character at the Too Many F&*$#! Bunnies show at the Uptown in Oakland, 2008

Another shot of the Clown on Rollerskates act...

And another...

And here's the clown looking serious...

 

3 Comments

Filed under Articles: Ask the Bombshell, Burlesque, Photos and Videos

3 responses to “Clown Burlesque!

  1. Jocelyn

    Great article and I LOVE the pics! Makes me want to watch chair race again!

  2. I LOVE the chicken pasties! Fabulous!

  3. Cory Bosch

    Seriously, what the fuck?

Leave a Reply

